Princess Half Training Update and Fantasia Concert Review

Can you believe we’re closing out week 12 of Princess Half Marathon training?!?!?! It’s going by so quickly! I ended week 12 with a 9 mile run – my fastest thus far. On Thanksgiving my husband and I ran the Turkey Day 5k race (review coming soon) so come Saturday during my long run I was particularly tired.

I run for Turkey!

I hit 5 miles and considered stopping there but kept going until I hit 9 miles. I started with 9/1 intervals at an incredibly slow pace. I knew from the get-go that it was going to be a tiring run so I kept my pace between 13:00-15:00/mile. By the end of my run I was at 2/1 intervals…

One thing I’m really frustrated with lately is the huge difference between my Garmin footpod and the treadmill. I’ve mentioned this before but this week’s long run was even worse than past treadmill runs in that the difference between read-outs was over a mile! I decided to go by the treadmill because I knew I wasn’t running 20:00 minute miles! Ugh…

9 miles!


On Saturday night, the hubs and I had orchestra tickets for the Minnesota Orchestra – Disney’s Fantasia. Oh…My…God…it was AMAZING! I hadn’t seen the Fantasia movies anytime recently so it was awesome to see the Minnesota Orchestra’s take on such a classic. Plus, it gave us a great excuse to get dressed up and do dinner downtown at the Bucher and the Boar – also amazing!

Date night! AMAZING!

And an artsy-fartsy picture of our tree, which we put up today. Tis the season!

Tis the season!

Overall, we had a wonderful Thanksgiving weekend. I hope you had a great holiday!

This run taught me…

Don’t focus so much on the numbers. Rather, focus on the feel.

What are you thankful for this year?

I’m thankful for my very loving and supportive family, my awesome dog, Kipper, and all the wonderful things happening in my life, both professionally and personally. Life is good!

Leave a Reply

