One more semester done! And a PHM training update.

The last two weeks have been CRAZY! With school and my new work contract, life has been extra busy. I’m not one to glorify busy but it wasn’t until this weekend that I finally started to feel focused again. In fact, it took a 10 mile run to get there!

Disney’s Princess Half Marathon Training Update

As I mentioned, this weekend marks the first time I’ve run double digit miles since high school cross-country. I got a little teary-eyed as my Garmin displayed 10 miles, but I was thankful as my legs started to seize up at mile 8. I think it’s due to my lack of water intake the day before…noted.

10 miles done!

It has been unseasonably warm here in Minnesota so I opted for an outdoor run – best decision ever! It was absolutely wonderful out, a little cool but perfect for a long run.


This week was a little better in terms of training, although I didn’t hit all of my scheduled workouts/runs. I did try my hand at running on turf. All I can say is no good! There is an indoor dome near my office that offers runners the chance to run along the outside of the soccer fields. I was only 10 minutes in when my legs completely seized up and the muscles were so tight that I couldn’t even walk. I had to stop along the side to stretch them out.

Turf-tastic? Not so much.

I went another 10 minutes and stopped after only 20 minutes. I was looking for an alternative to treadmill running during the winter months and unfortunately, this is not it.

Then today, the hubs and I took Kippy for a long walk along one of the nearby lakes. It was a wet but mild walk with TONS of fog.

Family walk with my two favorites!

If you’re training for a particular race, I hope it’s going well! As of today, we are 67 days away from our Walt Disney World trip and I’ve been working furiously on our daily plans since our date to make FastPass+ ressies is fast approaching. More to come on this as I finalize plans.

Have a great start to your week!

Leave a Reply

