Princess Half Marathon Training Update

Another week closer to the Princess Half Marathon, and I’m starting to freak out a bit. I had to take three weeks off due to bronchitis so this week’s training was all about getting back in the groove.

Getting back in the groove

I had 7 miles on the schedule for my Saturday long run. I started strong but was feeling a bit out of my element. I was trying to find my pace but started too fast, especially considering I hadn’t done a long run in nearly 4 weeks. I hit mile 4 and was already feeling the fatigue in my legs. Miles 4-6 were painful so as I closed out mile 6, I decided to call it a day. It’s more important to stay injury-free this close to the race, rather than push it.

I felt pretty bad about this, as if I had cheated on my goal. But after reflecting on it for a while, I came to the conclusion that running smart is what makes a good runner, not necessarily how far you go or how fast you get it done.

Then today I took my first ClassPass class at Kula Yoga. It was my first yoga practice in a long time and while I was pretty sore from yesterday’s run, the burn and stretch felt absolutely amazing. If you’re unfamiliar with ClassPass, it’s a new concept to the world of gym memberships. The idea is that with a monthly membership, you can attend classes at a number of studios that sign on to participate in the program. Studios include yoga, pilates, barre, and strength training.

If you’re interested in a membership-based gym but are having a hard time settling on just one, this could be a great alternative to the traditional gym memberships. This was my first experience with it and so far I like it.

I hope you all had a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

